Isle of Skye Timeline 3 - AD 1804 to AD 1995
1804: Lord Alexander MacDonald of Sleat petitions the Highlands Roads and bridges Commission to build the Kylerhea to Stein road.
1805: Thomas Telford develops plan for Highland roads.
1805: Evangelists call for bagpipes and fiddles to be destroyed on a great bonfire at the head of Loch Snizort.
1808: The Macleod's' lands at Glenelg sold for £98,500 to a London banker named Patrick Crawford Bruce.
1810: Portree jail, the town's oldest remaining building is built.
1811: Road from Dunvegan to Borve completed.
1811: Lime kiln built at Broadford.
1812: Angus MacKay born on Rassay. Became a Gold Medal piper to the Rassay Campbell's.
1812: Road between Broadford and Ardvasar completed.
1813: Cattle driven from Skye to mainland markets put at between 5,000 and 8,000 head a year.
1813: Road between Kylerhea and Ardvasar completed.
1814: Sir Walter Scott visits Skye.
1815: Armadale Castle designed by Gillespie Graham.
1819: Publication of John MacCulloch's Description of the Western Isles.
1831: Turner paints Loch Corriskin.
1837: 450 Skye people shipped to Australia.
1840: Borve cleared of crofters.
1841: 600 Skye people shipped from Portree parish to Australia and America.
1842: Population 23,000.
1851: £7,200 raised by Sheriff Fraser of Portree to ship 200 emigrants from Skye.
1914-1918: First World War.
1920: The Great Depression.
1939-1945: Second World War.
1995: Skye Bridge opens after 3 years and 3 months of construction. Joining for the first time, the island of Skye with the Scottish mainland.